SPS National Council

The SPS National Council is the main governing body for the Society of Physics Students and Sigma Pi Sigma. The Council is composed of an elected faculty zone councilor (ZC) and an elected student associate zone councilor (AZC) from each of the 18 zones, and an elected council president and Sigma Pi Sigma president. The council composition was designed carefully with the student voice in mind. The Council meets face-to-face annually, usually in the fall in the Washington, DC, area and by video conference each spring.


2019-20 SPS Executive Committee


Brad R. Conrad

Director, SPS and Sigma Pi Sigma

bconrad@aip.org

(301)-209-3111

Twitter: @bradrconrad

Alina Gearba-Sell

President, Society of Physics Students

United States Air Force Academy

mirela.gearba@usafa.edu

President, Sigma Pi Sigma

Juniata College

borgardt@juniata.edu

Associate Councilor Representative

William Jewell College

canvasmeg@gmail.com

Katherine Zaunbrecher

At-Large Member

Colorado State University

katherine.zaunbrecher@colostate.edu

Earl Blodgett

Historian, SPS & Sigma Pi Sigma

University of Wisconsin-River Falls

earl.d.blodgett@uwrf.edu

Steve Mackwell

Deputy Executive Officer, American Institute of Physics

smackwell@aip.org


2019-20 SPS National Council


Zone 1 Councilors

William Karstens

Zone Councilor

Saint Michael's College

wkarstens@smcvt.edu

Molly McDonough

Associate Zone Councilor

Suffolk University

mmcdonough4@su.suffolk.edu

Zone 2 Councilors

Colleen Countryman

Zone Councilor

Ithaca College

ccountryman@ithaca.edu

Robert Melikyan

Associate Zone Councilor

Ithaca College

rmelikyan@ithaca.edu

Zone 3 Councilors

Roberto Ramos

Zone Councilor

University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

r.ramos@usciences.edu

Elyzabeth Graham

Associate Zone Councilor

Juniata College

grahaem18@juniata.edu

Zone 4 Councilors

Donna Hammer

Zone Councilor

University of Maryland-College Park

dhammer@umd.edu

Ryan Pindale

Associate Zone Councilor

University of Maryland-College Park

rypin@outlook.com

Zone 5 Councilors

Anthony Kuchera

Zone Councilor

Davidson College

ankuchera@davidson.edu

Caroline Evans

Associate Zone Councilor

Davidson College

caevans@davidson.edu

Zone 6 Councilors

Mel Blake

Zone Councilor

University of North Alabama

rmblake@una.edu

Kevin Fernando

Associate Zone Councilor

University of Central Florida

kfernando300@knights.ucf.edu

Zone 7 Councilors

Ronald Kumon

Zone Councilor

Kettering University A & B

rkumon@kettering.edu

Abigail Ambrose

Associate Zone Councilor

The College of Wooster

aambrose20@wooster.edu

Zone 8 Councilors

Dan Miller

Zone Councilor

Millikin University

damiller@millikin.edu

Justin Craig

Associate Zone Councilor

Millikin University

jncraig@millikin.edu

Zone 9 Councilors

Cecilia Vogel

Zone Councilor

Augustana College

CeciliaVogel@augustana.edu

Aaila Ali

Associate Zone Councilor

De Paul University

a.h.aaila@gmail.com

Zone 10 Councilors

Shannon Clardy

Zone Councilor

Henderson State University

clardys@hsu.edu

Joseph Dees

Associate Zone Councilor

Henderson State University

jd218051@reddies.hsu.edu

Zone 11 Councilors

Robert McTaggart

Zone Councilor

South Dakota State University

robmctaggart@yahoo.com

Brigette Smith

Associate Zone Councilor

Coe College

basmith@coe.edu

Zone 12 Councilors

Jency Sundararajan

Zone Councilor

Missouri Southern State University

sundararajan-j@mssu.edu

Pujita Ravichandar

Associate Zone Councilor

Truman State University

pr4354@truman.edu

Zone 13 Councilors

Larry Isenhower

Zone Councilor

Abilene Christian University

ldi00a@acu.edu

Wade E. Cookston

Associate Zone Councilor

Texas Lutheran University

wecookston@tlu.edu

Zone 14 Councilors

Hannah Jang-Condell

Zone Councilor

University of Wyoming

hjangcon@uwyo.edu

Keegan Karbach

Associate Zone Councilor

Metropolitan State University of Denver

kkarbach@msudenver.edu

Zone 15 Councilors

Tamara Young

Zone Councilor

University of Utah

tamara@physics.utah.edu

Jared Coles

Associate Zone Councilor

Utah State University

jared.robert.coles@gmail.com

Zone 16 Councilors

Leandra Goldflam

Zone Councilor

University of New Mexico

lgoldflam@unm.edu

Autumn Durham

Associate Zone Councilor

University of New Mexico

autumnkayley@unm.edu

Zone 17 Councilors

Deanna Marshall

Zone Councilor

Central Washington University

deanna.marshall@cwu.edu

Associate Zone Councilor

Central Washington University

kourtney.adkisson@cwu.edu

Zone 18 Councilors

Don Williams

Zone Councilor

California State University-Fresno

dwilliams@csufresno.edu

Cynthia Olvera Perez

Associate Zone Councilor

California State University-Fresno

cperez39@mail.csuchico.edu